

ALABAMA MUNICIPAL ELECTRIC AUTHORITY

P.O. BOX 5220 • MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36103 804 SOUTH PERRY STREET TEL 334/262-1126 • FAX 334/262-2267 www.amea.com

April 19, 2012

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Lisa Miller
Manager, Communications
and Marketing
(334) 387-3501

AMEA and its Members announce 2012 scholarship winners

Thirty-three high school seniors will be enrolling in a four-year university or two-year college this year with help from the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) and its 11 Members through the 2012 AMEA Scholarship Program. Each of the 33 scholarship recipients will receive a \$2,500 scholarship for a total of \$82,500 awarded in this year's program.

AMEA, which has provided scholarship assistance since 1992, received 154 scholarship applications in the 2012 program.

To be eligible for the AMEA scholarship or technical school scholarship, a student's family must receive electric service from a Member's electric utility and the student must attend an Alabama college or university.

"We are very pleased with the response to this year's program and we congratulate the winners," said Pamela Poole, AMEA Scholarship Program Coordinator. "Through such initiatives as the AMEA Scholarship Program, AMEA and its Members are helping enrich the lives of students throughout the state, and the benefits of this program will have a long, lasting effect."

Ms. Poole said AMEA will begin marketing the 2013 scholarship program to schools within its Member cities and also on the AMEA web site, www.amea.com, Scholarship Program, this fall.

Scholarship recipients include:

2012 AMEA Scholarship

Savanna N. Winslett, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Jaylan H. Reynolds, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Hagan R. Pemberton, Benjamin Russell High School, Alexander City

Carly M. Sowell, Dothan High School, Dothan

Brittany L. Allums, Headland High School, Dothan

Eric M. Layer, Providence Christian School, Dothan

Carly T. McRae, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Lauren E. Bowling, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Jacqueline C. Jones, Fairhope High School, Fairhope

Harold B. Lampkin, Spanish Fort High School, Riviera Utilities (Foley)

Anna C. Raley, Fairhope High School, Riviera Utilities (Foley)

Tanner M. Shaw, Fairhope High School, Riviera Utilities (Foley)

LaKeitha T. Seroyer, LaFayette High School, LaFayette

Evan M. Tucker, First Baptist Opelika Christian School, LaFayette

Timishiyee J. Walker, Lanett High School, Lanett

Alexis N. Boyd, Lanett High School, Lanett

Brendan W. Hermeling, Luverne High School, Luverne

Yeon S. Park, Luverne High School, Luverne

Loren C. Sanders, Luverne High School, Luverne

Mercedes J. Menefield, Opelika High School, Opelika

Andrew T. Overstreet, Opelika High School, Opelika

Stephen A. Shirley, Ballard Christian School, Opelika

Mariah L. Gowens, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

Christa D. Smith, Piedmont High School, Piedmont

Connor A. Minton, Alabama School of Mathematics & Science, Piedmont

Shannon C. House, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

Samuel L. Jackson, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

Alexis N. Brown, Booker T. Washington High School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee

Terry L. Dallas, Jr., Booker T. Washington High School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee

John J. Bradford, Saint James School, Utilities Board of Tuskegee

2012 AMEA Technical School Scholarship

CanShavia S. Zachery, LaFayette High School, LaFayette

Ericeiyah T.Z. Darden, Lanett High School, Lanett

Brien A. Szczypinski, Sylacauga High School, Sylacauga Utilities Board

AMEA, a joint action agency formed in 1981, is the wholesale power provider for 11 public power utilities in Alabama, which serve approximately 350,000 customers in the cities of Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga and Tuskegee.