Megan's Law (Sex Offender's) Information
For more than 50 years, Alabama has required dangerous sex offenders to register with their local law enforcement agencies. However, information on the whereabouts of these sex offenders was not available to the public until the implementation of the Child Molester Identification Line in July 1995. The information available was further expanded by California 's Megan's Law in 1996 (Chapter 908, Stats. of 1996).
Megan's Law is named after seven-year-old Megan Kanka , a New Jersey girl who was raped and killed by a known child molester who had moved across the street from the family without their knowledge. In the wake of the tragedy, the Kanka's sought to have local communities warned about sex offenders in the area.
Now, California 's Megan's Law arms the public with certain information on the whereabouts of dangerous sex offenders so that members of our local communities may protect themselves and their children. The law also authorizes local law enforcement to notify the public about high-risk and serious sex offenders who reside in, are employed in, or frequent the community.
The law is not intended to punish the offender and specifically prohibits using the information to harass or commit any crime against the offender.
Code of Alabama Section 13A-11-200
Persons convicted of certain offenses to register with sheriff in county of residence; registrtion on moving from one county to another.
If any person, except a delinquent child, as defined in Section 12-15-1, residing in Alabama, has heretofore been convicted, or shall be convicted in any state or municipal court in Alabama or so convicted in another state in any court having jurisdiction similar to the jurisdiction of state and municipal courts in Alabama for any of the offenses hereinafter enumerated, such person shall, upon his or her release from legal custody, register with the sheriff of the county of his or her legal residence within 30 days following such release or within 30 days after September 7, 1967, in case such person was released prior to such date. The offenses above referred to are generally any act of sexual perversion involving a member of the same or the opposite sex, or any sexual abuse of any member of the same or the opposite sex or any attempt to commit any of these acts, and without limiting the generality of the above statement shall include specifically: rape, as proscribed by Sections 13A-6-61 and 13A-6-62; sodomy, as proscribed by Sections 13A-6-63 and 13A-6-64; sexual misconduct, as proscribed by Section 13A-6-65; indecent exposure, as proscribed by Section 13A-6-68; promoting prostitution in the first or second degree, as proscribed by Sections 13A-12-111 and 13A-12-112; obscenity, as proscribed by Section 13A-12-131; incest, as proscribed by Section 13A-13-3; or the attempt to commit any of the above offenses.
Any person having been so convicted shall upon moving his legal residence from one county to another register with the sheriff of the county to which he has moved within 30 days after such removal. It shall be unlawful for a convicted sex offender as described in this article to fail or refuse to register as herein required.
If they fail to register on time, they are in violation of the law and go to jail. If they fail to notify the Police Department when they move in or out of the city, they go to jail. If they provide the Police Department with false or deceptive information about where they are living, they can go to jail. The Alexander City Police Department has a no tolerance policy with regard to sex registration.