

ALABAMA MUNICIPAL ELECTRIC AUTHORITY

P.O. BOX 5220 • MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA 36103 804 SOUTH PERRY STREET TEL 334/262-1126 • FAX 334/262-2267 www.amea.com

Aug. 25, 2014

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Lisa Miller
Manager, Communications
and Marketing
(334) 387-3501

AMEA AND ITS MEMBERS KICK OFF 2015 SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM

Will you be graduating from high school in the spring of 2015? Do you receive your electricity from a public power utility in Alabama? Then if your answer to these questions is "yes," you could be eligible to receive a scholarship from the Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) and its 11 Member cities/utilities.

Since 1992, AMEA and its Members (Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley-Riviera Utilities, LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga and Tuskegee) have provided scholarships to area high school seniors through the AMEA Scholarship Program. Scholarships, totaling approximately \$82,500, were awarded in the 2014 program.

Each year, AMEA and its Members make available 33, \$2,500 scholarships, which include regular and technical school scholarships. To be eligible for either of AMEA's scholarships, a student's family must receive electric service from a Member's electric utility and the student must attend an Alabama college or university.

Applications are currently available from school counselors in these Member cities, or you can go online to the AMEA web site, www.amea.com, Scholarship Program.

Applications are reviewed and winners are selected by an independent panel of Montgomery area college guidance personnel. **Application deadline is Monday, Feb. 2, 2015.**

For more information on the program, contact your school counselor or Pamela Poole, AMEA's Scholarship Program Coordinator, (334) 387-3504, (800) 239-2632, Ext. 110, or pam@amea.com.

AMEA, located in Montgomery, is the wholesale power provider for 11 public power utilities in Alabama, which serve some 350,000 customers in Alexander City, Dothan, Fairhope, Foley (Riviera Utilities), LaFayette, Lanett, Luverne, Opelika, Piedmont, Sylacauga, and Tuskegee.